ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

House Bill 938 State-Owned Nursing Homes – Deficiencies, Citations and Fines – Reporting Requirements

SUPPORT AS AMENDED

March 22, 2024

The Honorable Senator Pamela Beidle Finance Committee 3 East, Miller Senate Office Building 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Chairman Beidle:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County **SUPPORT HB 938 as amended- State-Owned Nursing Homes – Deficiencies, Citations and Fines – Reporting Requirements** which is being heard in the Finance Committee.

We support HB 938 as amended and request a favorable report. We appreciate the introduction of this legislation and believe it will benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. We look forward to working with you on this and other initiatives throughout the session.

Sincerely, COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

Jana R Ly

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/sf T:/Consent/2024/063

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey Delegate Todd Morgan Delegate Matthew Morgan Delegate Brian Crosby Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr. Commissioner Eric Colvin Commissioner Michael Hewitt Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow David Weiskopf, County Administrator John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney

P.O. BOX 653 • CHESAPEAKE BUILDING • 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 EXT. 1350 • FAX 301.475.4935 • <u>www.stmarysmd.com</u> • CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTYMD.GOV